University Publication Advisory Committee

Terms of reference

  1. To advise on the strategies to be adopted and actions taken in coordinating scholarly publishing activities across the University.
  2. To champion and ensure the continued development of a scholarly publishing model that enables ANU scholarship and research to reach the widest possible readership in both digital and print formats.
  3. To advise, in particular, on the directions to be followed in establishing and maintaining a distributed editorial framework that underpins and employs the central set of services provided by ANU Press.
  4. To advise on the nature of the governance and financial arrangements under which a distributed publishing model of this kind should operate within the University.



  • Professor James Fox


  • Lorena Kanellopoulos


  • Professor James Fox (Chair of the Committee)
  • Professor Robin Stanton (Pro Vice-Chancellor, E-Strategies)
  • Professor Jenny Corbett (Pro Vice-Chancellor, Research and Research Training)
  • Professor Nicolas Peterson (Head, School of Archaeology and Anthropology and Chair, ANU Press Humanities and Creative Arts Board)
  • Professor Paul Maharg (ANU College of Law, Chair, ANU Press Law Board)
  • Professor Brian Kennett (Research School of Earth Sciences, Chair, ANU Press Science Board)
  • Ms Roxanne Missingham (Chief Scholarly Information Officer and University Librarian)
  • Mr Colin Steele (Emeritus Fellow)
  • Mrs Lorena Kanellopoulos (Manager, ANU Press)


Date & location Minutes
Monday 5 Aug 2013 Minutes (PDF, 244.41 KB)
Tuesday 20 Nov 2012 Minutes (PDF, 257.48 KB)
Tuesday 15 May 2012 Minutes (PDF, 316.31 KB)
Monday 12 Dec 2011 Minutes (PDF, 344.42 KB)